Each month, we ask one of our team members to share some information about themselves so we can learn a little bit more about each person at Brooks Resources. Let’s get to know a little more about Carol, our Owner Relations Manager!

Q. What project are you working on right now?
A. There are a few, but mainly Tree Farm and IronHorse in Prineville. Other developments I work on when they come up are: Century Washington Center, Shevlin Center, College Park, Compass Corner, Awbrey Road Heights.  Definitely across the board with Brooks communities and projects.  

Q. What’s an average day for you at the office?
A. Working with owners, architects and builders on their projects, Processing plan submittals, conducting Architectural Review meetings (ARC), writing ARC review responses and checking on job sites are just a few of my daily activities.

Q. What positions have you held at Brooks Resources over the years?
A. Owner Relations Assistant and Owner Relations Manager

Q. How many years have you worked here?
. In November 2020 it will be 21 years.

Q. What project(s) are you most proud of?
A. When I first started with Brooks Resources, Awbrey Butte and Awbrey Glen were up and running full steam and that was a fun learning experience and I’m pleased I had a chance to work on those communities. North Rim, Tree Farm…actually they are all wonderful developments. I enjoy all of them and all fun for me, with such a variety of owners, design concepts and ARC committee members.  There are always challenges, but you eventually look back and laugh at those. 

Q. What else have you done/places you’ve worked during your career?
A. Out of high school, I attended and graduated from Merit Davis Legal Secretarial school in Salem, then began working for the State of Oregon (DMV & Veterans Affairs). I went on to Willamette Industries in Dallas, OR where my position was secretary to the lumber sales manager. Later, I raised four children and began a construction company with my husband which three of four children still operate today. My youngest daughter is a teacher in the McMinnville School district. I moved to Bend in 1998. 

Q. What gets you up in the morning?  What motivates you?
A. That would be my work routine. I couldn’t have fallen into a better job with Brooks Resources when joining my sister and Mom in Bend in 1998, and love my work family. Getting up means there is another great and busy day ahead of me to work with others, be social and stay close to my children and grandchildren. “You never know when you get up in the morning,” but, for me, it’s always good.

Q. What’s the last book you read?
A. Now reading Kristin Hannah “The Nightingale.” But I’ve read a variety …..The After Life of Billy Fingers was very interesting, and so were Hillbilly Elegy and Willie Nelson It’s A Long Story. I’ve read a lot of other genres but these are the latest. I prefer non-fiction but read fiction as well.

Q. Who would you like to have dinner with (living or deceased)?
A. My Mom, I have so many questions now that I can’t call her. Or Eleanor Roosevelt (whom my mother admired) a wise and wonderful woman, who was “down to earth” as we say.  She did a lot for our country during her life and has so many great quotes.  “A woman is like a tea bag…you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water” is a favorite of mine. 

Q. What nonprofits are you involved with or support?
A. I support a few, but only by donations.  FAN and the Giving Plate monthly.  I do not sit on any boards,  but I do what I can to help. I serve on the Contributions Committee at Brooks Resources and am, in many ways, active with many of our donation recipients in that manner.

Q. Words/Quote to live by?
A. “It’s always the right time to do the right thing.”  Martin Luther King

Q. Where were you born?
A. Hillsboro, Oregon

Q. Do you have a favorite beer, kombucha or cider from Central Oregon?
A. I’m not big on beer, but I do like Deschutes Brewery Fresh Squeezed IPA in the summer months and whatever else I’m handed. 😉

Q. If you had four free hours of time, how would you spend it?
A. Gosh that depends on the day. In the spring/summer I would be outside in my yard or hiking with friends or family…. and winter probably reading, working in my home, or meeting up with a friend.  I like the History Channel documentaries, PBS/Nova and HGTV.  I like visiting art galleries too. I do like being outside with nature.



Powered by Alpine Internet Solutions